The United States has always welcomed people from all over the world. That’s why it’s not surprising that many Americans have Hispanic roots. For 40 years, Americans have celebrated their impact on the culture and society with the Hispanic Heritage month.

The month is celebrated from September 15 until October 15 and recognizes Hispanic leaders, Hispanic culture and historic moments. For many people is an opportunity to highlight discrimination against Hispanic and many other celebrate their ancestors. 

With the Hispanic population in the US growing every year, according to the Census Bureau between 2010 and 2020 half of the total US population growth was due to Hispanics or Latinos, it’s more important than ever to recognize them. If you wanna know more about this celebration, check out some facts. 

What is the difference between Hispanic and Latino?

The terms “Hispanic” and “Latino” are terms meant to describe the population of people living in the U.S. of that ethnic background. While sometimes they are used interchangeably, like the Pew Research Center, there are differences between the words itself.

It’s generally accepted that “Hispanic” specifically refers to Spanish-language-speaking Latin America and Spain. Meanwhile, Latino and Latina refer to those coming from Latin American countries and cultures, regardless of whether the person speaks Spanish. This includes Brazil or French Guiana, for example. 

Why does Hispanic Heritage Month start on the 15th? 

The day September 15 is significant for this celebration because it is the anniversary of independence for various Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. Mexico celebrates its independence day on September 16, while Chile does the same on September 18. However, the month also includes Columbus Day or Día de la Raza (on October 12). 

First, the Hispanic Heritage was celebrated during a week under President Lyndon Johnson. It was expanded to a 30-day period by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 and it was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.

What countries are involved in Hispanic Heritage Month? 

The Hispanic Heritage Month was instituted to celebrate the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America. 

Hispanic countries are: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Hispanic Population in the US

Thera are 60.5 million Hispanics living in the United States, according to the 2019 U.S. Census Bureau population estimate. This group represents 18.4 percent of the U.S. total population, growing in the past ten years. 

How to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month?

There are many ways in which people celebrate the Hispanic Heritage Month! You can do it by educating yourself about the cultures of the Hispanic countries or donating to Hispanic charities. You also can eat food from any of the countries being celebrated or honor influential Hispanics who had an impact on society.