Manchester City have become among the most popular teams in the world, thanks to the great number of domestic accolades they have gathered in the past decade. They are a Manchester-based English soccer club competing in the Premier League. They were established in 1880, as St. Mark's (West Gorton), only to change their name to Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887, and eventually become Manchester City in 1894.

The home of the team is the Etihad Stadium where they relocated in 2003. They previously featured at home at Maine Road, from 1923. In the first season of the club's final incarnation as Man City, they adopted their sky blue home jersey. Large club financial investments both in play personnel and facilities were purchased by the Abu Dhabi United Group in 2008.

Ever since then, the club's history has changed. Manchester City's income in the 2018-19 season was the fifth-highest of any soccer club in the world. In 2019, Forbes ranked them as the fifth most valuable in the world, with a value of $2.69 billion. 

How many titles do Manchester City have?

In 1892, Manchester City became a member of the Football League and in 1904 they earned their first major honor after lifting the FA Cup trophy. The club became successful in the late 1960s under the leadership of Joe Mercer and Malcolm Allison, having won the League, European Cup Winner Cup, the FA Cup, and the League Cup.

After the 1981 FA Cup Final, the team experienced a period of decline and in 1998 for the only time in their history, they got relegated to the third level of English soccer. In 2001-02 they re-emerged to the second level, and they have been in the Premier League since 2002-03.

Under Pep Guardiola's leadership, the squad won the Premier League in 2018, becoming the only Premier League side to achieve 100 points in a single season. They won four trophies in 2019, completing a historic sweep of all domestic trophies in England, and becoming the first English men's team to accomplish so.

Complete list of Manchester City titles

Manchester City have managed to put 35 major awards in their trophy cabinet. Let's take a look at all the titles they have won since 1880:

Domestic titles

7 x First Division / Premier League
7 x Second Division / Championship
6 x FA Cup
8 x EFL Cup
6 x FA Community Shield

Continental and international titles

1 x UEFA Cup Winners' Cup