The 2021 Copa Libertadores will take place for the 62nd time under the governing body of CONMEBOL Libertadores, the first CONMEBOL football club competition in South America.

The champions of Copa Libertadores 2021 will qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup in Japan in 2021 and will secure the right to compete in the Copa Sudamericana 2022. They will also qualify for the 2022 Copa Libertadores Group Stage automatically.

This is the first season where if the clubs want to compete in South American club competition, they have to be in the top tier of their membership group, except for teams who are winners of the qualification tournaments or the cups. The defending champions are Brazilian club Palmeiras



Copa Libertadores 2021 Schedule

CONMEBOL declared on February 4, 2021, a change to the way of qualification. Take a look at the Copa Libertadores 2021 Schedule.

Stage Leg 1 Leg 2
First Stage 23-24 February 2-3 March
Second Stage 9-11 March 16-18 March
Third Stage 6-8 April 13-15 April
Group Stage

Matchday 1: 20-22 April

Matchday 2: 27-29 April

Matchday 3: 4-6 May

Matchday 4: 11-13 May

Matchday 5: 18-20 May

Matchday 6: 25-27 May

Round of 16 13-15 July 20-22 July
Quarter-Finals 10-12 August  17-19 August
Semi-Finals 21-23 September 28-30 September
Final 20 November

Copa Libertadores 2021 Format

The qualification stages begin with the First stage of six clubs. The three first-phase winners move to the second stage to join the 13 teams given byes for the next stage. Stage two consists of 16 clubs.

The eight second-stage champion advances to stage three of eight clubs. The four third-stage champions join the 28 direct participants in the Group Stage. In the third round, the four teams that have been eliminated, enter the Copa Sudamericana Group Stage.


Copa Libertadores 2021 Groups

All clubs in each group will play their home and away games. Each group's winners and runners-up will go on to the last 16 in the final stage. The 2021 Copa Sudamericana will welcome the third-placed clubs who won't continue in the 2021 Copa Libertadores. Check out the Copa Libertadores 2021 Groups.

Group A: Palmeiras, Defensa y Justicia, Universitario, Independiente del Valle

Group B: Olimpia, Internacional, Deportivo Táchira, Always Ready

Group C: Boca Juniors, Barcelona, The Strongest, Santos

Group D: River Plate, Santa Fe, Fluminense, Junior

Group E: São Paulo, Racing, Sporting Cristal, Rentistas

Group F: Nacional, Universidad Católica, Argentinos Juniors, Atlético Nacional

Group G: Flamengo, LDU Quito, Vélez Sarsfield, Unión La Calera

Group H: Cerro Porteño, Atlético Mineiro, América de Cali, Deportivo La Guaira.

Copa Libertadores 2021 Fixtures

The first four games of the 2021 Copa Libertadores Group Stage will take place on Tuesday, April 20. Take a look at all the Copa Libertadores 2021 Fixtures.








How To Watch Or Stream Live Free Copa Libertadores 2021 in the U.S.

The Copa Libertadores 2021, to be played from February 23 to November 20, 2021, will be broadcasted on beIN SPORTS in the United States.