The 2021 Gold Cup marks the 16th CONCACAF Gold Cup, an international, biennial, men's football competition organized by the CONCACAF football governing body in North America, Central American, and the Caribbean.

Originally scheduled for July 2 to July 25, 2021, the international soccer tournament will take place from July 10 to August 1. The defending champions are Mexico. The CONCACAF Gold Cup will be played for the first time with the video assistant (VAR) system.

The Gold Cup will be held at 11 stadiums across eight metropolitan areas of the United States this summer. It is a major part of Concacaf's 60th-anniversary celebration. The final match will be held on Sunday, August 1, at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas.

Gold Cup 2021: Who are the most capped players in Gold Cup history?

Landon Donovan of the US celebrates after scoring. (Getty)

No doubt, Landon Donovan is the most capped player in Gold Cup history. The United States national hero played 34 matches in the competition in 6 different editions. He managed to win four Gold Cups, ended up a runner-up once, and took third place on one occasion. In addition, he is also the all-time leading goalscorer in the Concacaf Gold Cup with a total of 18 goals.

He has left behind Panama duo Gabriel Gomez and Jaime Penedo. They are the only two active Panamanian stars on the list at the moment, but they have not been called up for the 2021 Gold Cup. As a result, the two of them will not be able to make any changes to the top 10 list of the all-time most capped players in the Gold Cup.

Interestingly, the Panama team can boast of having even five players in the top 10 list, the largest number of all. Next up is the US men's soccer squad with four players. The only one who will be present in the 2021 Gold Cup is Andres Guardado of Mexico, who is currently sitting in the sixth position with 24 games so far. If El Tri reaches the Final, and he plays all the matches, he will have the possibility of reaching 30 appearances and thus, climb to the third position in the historical table.

Position Player's Name Country Total Games Number of Gold Cups
1. Landon Donovan United States 34 6
2. Gabriel Gomez Panama 32 7
3. Jaime Penedo Panama 28 6
4. Clint Dempsey United States 25 5
5. Roman Torres Panama 25 7
6. Andres Guardado Mexico 24 5
7. DaMarcus Beasley United States 24 6
8. Kasey Keller United States 23 6
9. Blas Perez Panama 21 5
10. Luis Tejada Panama 21 5