Venezuela host Uruguay today for the Matchday 8 of the South American World Cup Qualifiers 2022 at the Estadio Olímpico de la UCV. La Vinotinto have the obligation of winning after their loss in La Paz, while Uruguay would want to secure three points after their draw with Paraguay. Here you will find the confirmed lineups from both sides for this exciting game.

This thrilling match for the Conmebol World Cup Qualifiers, to be played this Tuesday June 8, 2021 will be broadcasted in the US by Fubo TV, who has exclusive streaming rights in the US. 

La Vinotinto comes back to Caracas, where they beat Chile 2-1 last November. Uruguay hasn’t played in Venezuela’s capital since November of 2002. However, La Celeste has a good record against the locals in the Olimpico for the qualifiers with two wins. 

Venezuela’s confirmed lineup for the match 

Will Venezuela win for consecutive time at home? (Getty).

After their poor image in La Paz, Jose Peseiro will have to make some changes to improve his team performance. For this game, in addition to the absences of Yangel Herrera, Salomon Rondon, Yordan Osorio and Yeferson Soteldo, Darwin Machis has presented some troubles with his health and he hasn’t trained with the team. 

Against Uruguay, Venezuela will need a more solid defense and midfield. That’s why, La Vinotinto confirmed lineup will be: Joel Graterol; Nahuel Ferraresi, Mikel Villanueva, Jhon Chancellor, Roberto Rosales, Alexander Gonzalez; Tomás Rincón, Junior Moreno, Jefferson Savarino; Romulo Otero and Josef Martínez. 

Uruguay’s confirmed lineup for the match 

Oscar Tabarez has to decide who will accompany Luis Suarez in the attack (Getty).

Uruguay also has some notable absences, especially in the attack. Oscar Tabarez doesn’t have Edinson Cavani, who is suspended after he received a red card against Brazil. Also, Rodrigo Betancourt isn’t available due to accumulation of yellow cards.

For this game, Tabarez will use a similar lineup that he proved against Paraguay. The confirmed starting lineup will be: Fernando Muslera; Martín Cacéres, Josema Giménez, Diego Godín, Giovanni González; Lucas Torreira, Fede Valverde, Matías Vecino, Facundo Torres; Luis Suarez and Jonathan Rodriguez.