2016 Summer Olympics Soccer champions Brazil will come against Germany in the opening round of the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games Group Stage today, July 22, 2021, at 1:30 PM (ET). Here, you will find when this Group D Matchday 1 soccer game will be played and how to watch it in the US.

This will be their fifth Olympic meeting. Interestingly, Brazil are the firm favorites in head-to-head clashes, having celebrated a victory on three occasions so far; Germany have grabbed a triumph only once to this day, and no games have ended in a draw.

Their most recent game was played on August 20, 2016, and it ended in a thriller 2-1 victory for Brazil in the 2016 Olympic Games Gold Medal Match. It promises to be a more exciting clash as they meet again, this time in the Group Stage of the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Brazil vs Germany: Match Information

Date: Thursday, July 22, 2021
Time: 7:30 AM (ET)
Location: Yokohama Stadium, Yokohama

Brazil vs Germany: Times by State in the US

ET: 7:30 AM
CT: 6:30 AM
MT: 5:30 AM
PT: 4:30 AM

Brazil vs Germany: Storylines

Brazil's men's national Olympic soccer team featured in six games in the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, drawing twice against Iraq and South Africa, and grabbing a total of four victories, against Denmark 4-0, Colombia 2-0, Honduras 6-0, and Germany 2-1 in the Final of the tournament. The Selecao will also play against Ivory Coast on July 25, and Saudi Arabia on July 28 for the remaining 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games Group Stage matches.

Germany's men's national Olympic soccer team also played six 2016 Rio fixtures, winning three times against Fiji 10-0, Portugal 4-0, Nigeria 2-0, drawing two against South Korea 3-3, and Mexico 2-2, and losing once against Brazil in the above-mentioned matchup. In the next two Group Stage fixtures, the DFB Eleven will play against Saudi Arabia on July 25 and Ivory Coast three days later, on July 28.

These opponents have a long history of clashes as their first one dates back to July 24, 1952, when Die Mannschaft salvaged a late 4-2 win after extra time in the Quarter-Finals of the 1952 Summer Olympics in Helsinki, Finland. Thanks to this exciting clash, we will see who gets to go into the next game with a win in Matchday 1.

How To Watch Or Stream Live Free Brazil vs Germany in the U.S.

The 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games Group Stage Matchday 1 game between Brazil and Germany, to be played today, at the Yokohama Stadium in Yokohama, will be broadcasted on Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBC Sports App, NBCOlympics.com, USA Network, Telemundo in the United States.

Brazil vs Germany: Predictions And Odds

All odds are in favor of Brazil. FanDuel see them as the absolute favorites to claim their first win at the Olympics and they have given them +105 odds. The German squad, meanwhile, have +270 odds to cause an early upset in the first round of the tournament, while a tie would result in a +230 payout.

  FanDuel
Brazil +105
Tie +230
Germany +270

* Odds via FanDuel