The Argentina national team faces a new opportunity to finally taste glory again. The Copa America 2021 to be held in Brazil will provide La Albiceleste their first big challenge in over two years. Even though Lionel Scaloni's side has not been lacking in important matches, as it already began the campaign towards Qatar 2022, the upcoming South American contest will be its first chance of fighting for silverware since the 2019 edition, also in Brazil

The 47th edition of soccer's oldest national team tournament is going to be a very special one for Argentina. After suffering many upsetting results in the previous tournaments, this could be their chance of redemption.

La Albiceleste head to this competition aiming to end a 28-year drought. Since their triumph in Ecuador in 1993, Argentina seemed to be cursed as they came up short every time. Looking to finally see players like Lionel Messi succeeding with the country's colors, the Argentina national team heads to the Copa America 2021 full of hope.

When will Argentina's first game in Copa America 2021 be played?

In their first Copa America 2021 game, Argentina will face Chile to kick off Group A. It will be a duel full of history behind it, as these two sides have met frequently in relevant games in recent years. In fact, they've clashed for the World Cup Qualifiers recently.

It could be also seen as sort of a rematch of the last tournament's third-place game. Scaloni's boys beat La Roja that time. However, they previously faced off in the 2015 and 2016 finals, with Chile winning both times on penalties.

Argentina and Chile will face once again in the Copa America (Getty).

Where will Argentina play their first match in Copa America 2021?

The first game of the Copa America 2021 to be played between Argentina and Chile is going to be played at Estadio Olímpico Nilson Santos in Río de Janeiro, the capital city of Brazil. This venue has hosted many high profile events already.

Estadio Olímpico Nilson Santos in Río de Janeiro (Getty).

Home of Botafogo, Estadio Nilson Santos held athletics contests in the 2016 Olympic Games and has also been home to the Paralympics. The upcoming Copa America 2021 will be a new big event to take place in this venue, which has a capacity of 46,931 spectators.

At what time will Argentina make their Copa America 2021 debut?

Argentina and Chile will face off on Monday, June 14, at 5:00 PM (ET). Here, check out the time of this game by State in the US:

  • ET: 5:00 PM
  • CT: 4:00 PM
  • MT: 3:00 PM
  • PT: 2:00 PM

After coming up short every time they fought for the trophy in the last years, Lionel Messi and his teammates will try to finally end the Albiceleste's drought and to leave behind every disappointing memory from the recent tournaments.