Copa America 2021 will begin soon, being the 47th edition of the continent's most significant soccer tournament. Throughout its history, the prestigious South American competition has seen different champions and memorable teams that left their mark. 

World Cup Qualifiers often show how evenly matched duels are the ones between sides in this region. The eagerly-awaited contest that takes place every four years is no exception to that rule, even though some teams have been more successful than others

With some of the sport's greatest national teams featuring world-renown superstars, Copa America is always an attractive event to watch and the upcoming edition is looming around. Here, check out how many times each national team has lifted the trophy.

Copa America all-time winners

The first soccer contest to be played between national teams, the Copa America began in 1916 under the name of Campeonato Sudamericano (South American Championship). From then on, it quickly established itself as the most important competition in the continent.

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Uruguay were the founding members of the tournament and played between them at first, until the remaining nations began to rise and were given a place. So far, eight of the ten South American countries have won the title. These are the trophies won by every national team:

Team Titles
Uruguay 15
Argentina 14
Brazil 9
Paraguay 2
Peru 2
Chile 2
Bolivia  1
Colombia 1
Ecuador -
Venezuela -
Chile won the Copa America Centenario in 2016 in a special edition for the tournament's 100th anniversary (Getty).

Uruguay are the winningest team of the competition, as their 2011 triumph gave them the lead over Argentina, who shared the first spot with them for a long time. La Albiceleste, however, have struggled to find success for about 28 years, which is why they are eager to finally win the trophy again.

Five-time World Champions Brazil were unable to be dominant in the continent, but over the last years, they have conquered most of the tournaments. Ecuador and Venezuela, remain the only two South American nations who haven't won the title yet.