The UEFA Nations League is an international football competition played every two years amongst senior men's national teams from UEFA member organizations. Following the 2018 FIFA World Cup, the inaugural competition began in September of that year. League A's four group winners advanced to the finals, held in Portugal in June 2019. In addition, four nations from each League qualified for the Euro 2020 finals.

The tournament primarily replaces the FIFA International Match Calendar's prior international friendly matchups with more competitive matches. UEFA considers the competition to be significant competition. The Nations League 2020-21 is the second season of the tournament. September to November 2020 (league phase), October 2021 (Nations League Finals), and March 2022 (finals) are the dates for the competition (relegation play-outs).

The reigning champions were Portugal, who had won the inaugural 2019 finals. After placing second in their group behind France, they were unable to qualify for the 2021 finals. None of the previous UEFA Nations League Finals qualifiers qualified for the 2021 edition.

UEFA Nations League 2021 prize money: How much does the champion get?

The UEFA Nations League raised a colossal €76.25 million ($86 million) prize budget for the inaugural season. After all of the money was added up, the champions team earned about €10.5 million ($11.72 million). Second-place teams were awarded €9 million, third-place teams were awarded €8 million, and fourth-place teams were awarded €7 million.

The prize money will be raised this season despite the emergence of COVID-19. The prize pool for this season is projected to exceed €100 million, with the winning teams collecting over €13.5 million. Aside from the Nations League trophy, each federation will get prize money based on their finish.

This season, the victorious team will earn €20 million in total prize money from the UEFA Nations League 2021. This includes base fees (€2.5 million), group winning bonuses and match-winning bonuses (€2.5 million), and the prize money for winning the Final (€14 million).

UEFA Nations League Finals Position Prize money
Fourth place €7 million
Third place €8 million
Runners-up €9 million
Winner €14 million