The 2021 Gold Cup Final is finally getting close and it will bring us a highly anticipated duel between two of the Concacaf powers. The USA and Mexico will meet in the tournament decider for the second straight time on Sunday, August 1, in Las Vegas, looking to claim regional glory.

The USMNT has had to sweat on its way to the grand final, beating Qatar in one of their many hard-fought wins throughout the competition. Gregg Berhalter didn't bring his A squad for the tournament, yet his side is one step away from lifting the United States' seventh Gold Cup trophy.

El Tri, meanwhile, have also booked their ticket to the final thanks to a last-gasp winner against Canada. Gerardo Martino's men have always been heavy favorites for a back-to-back title but they struggled to win comfortably so far. With the big game looming around, let's take a look at both teams' probable lineups.

USA confirmed lineup

Gregg Berhalter has often changed names game after game in this tournament, but he used a 4-3-3 formation almost every time. Only GK Matt Turner and CB Miles Robinson have played every minute of the US' Gold Cup journey.

For the big final, Berhalter will start experienced players such as Paul Arriola, who have also started in the 2019 final. The team would look pretty much the same to the one that defeated Qatar. This is how the USMNT would line up: Matt Turner; Reggie Cannon, Miles Robinson, James Sands, George Bello, Kellyn Acosta, Eryk Williamson, Sebastian Lletget; Paul Arriola, Gyasi Zardes, Matthew Hoppe.

Mexico confirmed starting XI

On the other hand, Gerardo Martino has frequently named a similar starting eleven during the Gold Cup, except when the knockout stages arrived. Jonathan dos Santos has earned a place among the starters since then, replacing Erick Gutiérrez. 

Besides, Martino also tried with three at the back against Canada. However, he might return to the 4-3-3 system for the final, with Tecatito Corona, Rogelio Funes Mori, and Orbelín Pineda - who did a great job replacing Hirving Lozano - up front. This would be Mexico's lineup: Alfredo Talavera; Luis Rodríguez, Nestor Araujo, Héctor Moreno, Jesús Gallardo; Jonathan dos Santos, Edson Alvarez, Héctor Herrera; Jesús Corona, Rogelio Funes Mori, Orbelín Pineda.