The 2021 Gold Cup has its champions. The US national team lifted the trophy on Sunday after beating Mexico 1-0 with a late goal from Miles Robinson in Las Vegas. With this triumph, the USA have now seven titles in the regional competition. 

It was the seventh Gold Cup final between these two bitter rivals. The United States beat Mexico in the decider for the first time since 2007. Meanwhile, Gerardo Martino's team couldn't win back-to-back titles. 

It was a tough path for both finalists. The USMNT reached the final after beating Qatar also with a late goal from Gyasi Zardes. On the other hand, El Tri had to fight to win over Canada with a goal from Hector Herrera in the 99th minute. Here, check out the 2021 Gold Cup knockout stages schedule, bracket, fixtures, and key dates.

Gold Cup 2021 Knockout Stage Schedule and Fixtures

Quarterfinals July 24-25
Semifinals July 29
Final August 1


Saturday, July 24 - Results

QF1: Qatar 3-2 El Salvador 
QF2: Mexico 3-0 Honduras

Sunday, July 25 - Results

QF3: Costa Rica 0- 2 Canada  
QF4: USA 1 - 0 Jamaica


Semifinals - Results

Thursday, July 29

SF1: Qatar 0 - 1 USA 
SF2:Mexico vs Canada 


Sunday, August 1

Mexico 0 - 1 USA 

Gold Cup 2021 Knockout Stages Bracket

The bracket of the 2021 Gold Cup knockout stages led to a highly anticipated final between the lifelong rivals Mexico and the USA, just like it happened in the last edition in 2019. This, however, the USA ended up being champions after winning 1-0 in the extra time. 

Gold Cup 2021 Knockout Stages Format

In the knockout stages of the 2021 Gold Cup, when a match remains tied after 90 minutes it will go to extra time (two periods of fifteen minutes each), and if things continue level after then, the winner will be decided by a penalty shootout. Check out the 2021 Gold Cup knockout stages format:

Match 1 (SF1): 1st Group D vs. 2nd Group A

Match 2 (SF2): 1st Group A vs. 2nd Group D

Match 3 (SF3): 1st Group C vs. 2nd Group B

Match 4 (SF4): 1st Group B vs. 2nd Group C

Gold Cup 2021 Knockout Stages Teams

The top two teams from each group made their way into this stage of the 2021 Gold Cup. These were the eight teams who advanced to the knockout phase of the competition:

Group A: Mexico, El Salvador
Group B: USA, Canada
Group C: Costa Rica, Jamaica
Group D: Qatar, Honduras

Gold Cup 2021 Key Dates

Needless to say, the whole 2021 Gold Cup was extremely attractive, but some games are more exciting than others, especially when it comes to the knockout stages. Check out the key dates of the 2021 Gold Cup knockout stages:

2021 Gold Cup Grand Final: Sunday, August 1