The season is about to begin and the list of the best NCAA Football Conferences is here with the ranking of the best for the season. All the best conferences are part of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). But there are a independent schools that are also part of the group of FBS group.

To clear things up for people who don't know very well about the FBS conferences list, in a nutshell we are talking about the best college football teams for this season. But we are emphasizing the conferences and the teams of each one of them.

FBS or Football Bowl Subdivision is made up of ten conferences, the first five are known as the Power Five and the next five as the Power Group, it also includes a last conference with several independent schools for a total of eleven.


NCAA College Football 2021: Lists of the FBS conferences

American Athletic Conference
Cincinnati Bearcats
East Carolina Pirates
Houston Cougars
Memphis Tigers
Navy Midshipmen
SMU Mustangs
South Florida Bulls
Temple Owls
Tulane Green Wave
Tulsa Golden Hurricane
UCF Knights


Atlantic Coast Conference
Atlantic Division
Boston College Eagles
Clemson Tigers
Florida State Seminoles
Louisville Cardinals
NC State Wolfpack
Syracuse Orange
Wake Forest Demon Deacons
Coastal Division
Duke Blue Devils
Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
Miami Hurricanes
North Carolina Tar Heels
Pittsburgh Panthers
Virginia Cavaliers
Virginia Tech Hokies


Big 12 Conference
Baylor Bears
Iowa State Cyclones
Kansas Jayhawks
Kansas State Wildcats
Oklahoma Sooners
Oklahoma State Cowboys
TCU Horned Frogs
Texas Longhorns
Texas Tech Red Raiders
West Virginia Mountaineers


Big 10 Conference
Indiana Hoosiers
Maryland Terrapins
Michigan State Spartans
Michigan Wolverines
Ohio State Buckeyes
Penn State Nittany Lions
Rutgers Scarlet Knights
Illinois Fighting Illini
Iowa Hawkeyes
Minnesota Golden Gophers
Nebraska Cornhuskers
Northwestern Wildcats
Purdue Boilermakers
Wisconsin Badgers


Conference USA
Charlotte 49ers
Florida Atlantic Owls
Florida International Panthers
Marshall Thundering Herd
Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders
Old Dominion Monarchs
Western Kentucky Hilltoppers
Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
North Texas Mean Green
Rice Owls
Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles
UAB Blazers
UTEP Miners
UTSA Roadrunners


FBS Independents
Army Black Knights
BYU Cougars
Liberty Flames
New Mexico State Aggies
Notre Dame Fighting Irish
UConn Huskies
UMass Minutemen


Mid-American Conference
Akron Zips
Bowling Green Falcons
Buffalo Bulls
Kent State Golden Flashes
Miami (OH) RedHawks
Ohio Bobcats
Ball State Cardinals
Central Michigan Chippewas
Eastern Michigan Eagles
Northern Illinois Huskies
Toledo Rockets
Western Michigan Broncos


Mountain West Conference
Air Force Falcons
Boise State Broncos
Colorado State Rams
New Mexico Lobos
Utah State Aggies
Wyoming Cowboys
Fresno State Bulldogs
Hawai'i Rainbow Warriors
Nevada Wolf Pack
San Diego State Aztecs
San José State Spartans
UNLV Rebels


Pac-12 Conference
California Golden Bears
Oregon Ducks
Oregon State Beavers
Stanford Cardinal
Washington Huskies
Washington State Cougars
Arizona State Sun Devils
Arizona Wildcats
Colorado Buffaloes
UCLA Bruins
USC Trojans
Utah Utes


Southeastern Conference
Florida Gators
Georgia Bulldogs
Kentucky Wildcats
Missouri Tigers
South Carolina Gamecocks
Tennessee Volunteers
Vanderbilt Commodores
Alabama Crimson Tide
Arkansas Razorbacks
Auburn Tigers
LSU Tigers
Mississippi State Bulldogs
Ole Miss Rebels
Texas A&M Aggies


Sun Belt Conference
Appalachian State Mountaineers
Coastal Carolina Chanticleers
Georgia Southern Eagles
Georgia State Panthers
Troy Trojans
Arkansas State Red Wolves
Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns
South Alabama Jaguars
Texas State Bobcats
UL Monroe Warhawks

Other conferences of the NCAA College Football 2021 season

There are other divisions and conferences that come to life during the season. The other divisions are the FCS (Football Championship Subdivision), Division II and Division III. Those other conferences are not unimportant, but they don't attract the same number of tv viewers as the FBS (formerly known as Division I-A).

Those divisions have their separate championships. Division II and III are separate from the FBS and FCS. But the most famous and most followed by fans in the US and other parts of the world is the FBS or Division I-A. The fame of this division is due to the fact that most of the "big" quarterbacks and other players tend to come out of the schools that are part of this conference.

The conferences that are not “popular” are like that because the member schools do not offer a full athletic scholarship like the two divisions above (FBS and FCS) do. In addition, these schools, within these conferences, are mostly private institutions or with little government support.