The CONCACAF Champions League since its early years in the 20th century when it was known by another name has been dominated by Mexican managers. But during that century other smaller teams also won titles and two United States teams also won their first and only titles in the tournament.

After the tournament was renamed to what it is today things changed, the level of play of other smaller teams is now lower and it is notable since the last time a non-Mexican or non-US team won the CONCACAF Champions League was Deportivo Saprissa (Costa Rica) back in 2005.

Under the new name of the tournament only Mexican managers have won the tournament, of the rest only two US teams and two Canadian teams were runners-up. The last time a US team was runners up was in the 2020 edition, Los Angeles FC.

Concacaf Champions League winning managers: Complete list by year

These are the winning managers since the CONCACAF Champions League adopted its new name and format, the first team to win the tournament under the new name was Atlante and the second winner was Pachuca.

Concacaf Manager winners
Coach name Team  Year won
Brian Schmetzer Seattle Sounders (2022)
Víctor Manuel Vucetich Monterrey (2011, 2012, 2013)
Diego Alonso Monterrey (2019)
Javier Aguirre Monterrey (2021)
Gustavo Matosas America (2015)
Ignacio Ambris America (2016)
Ricardo Ferretti Tigres UANL (2020)
Luis Fernando Tena Cruz Azul (2014)
José Guadalupe Cruz Atlante (2009)
Guillermo Rivarola Pachuca (2010)

Diego Alonso

Monterrey (2017)

Obviously Mexico is the country with the most managers, in this table Mexico's dominance over United States and Canada in the CONCACAF Champions League is evident. However, Seattle Sounders ended the 16-year droughout after a 3-0 win against Pumas UNAM with a US manager for the first time since the tournament's rebuild.