Spain will come against Italy at the Wembley Stadium in London on Tuesday, July 6, 2021, at 3:00 PM (ET) in one of the two UEFA European Championship 2020 Semi-FinalsThe Wembley Stadium in London is set to host the Semi-Finals and the Final since it has the highest capacity of all of the stadiums. 

This will be their 34th overall meeting. Spain are the firm favorites in head-to-head clashes, having celebrated a victory on 12 occasions so far; Italy have grabbed a triumph nine times to this day, and a great number of 12 games have ended in a draw.

Their most recent game was played on September 2, 2017, when Spain crushed Italy with a final result of 3-0 in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. It promises to be an even more exciting clash as these two countries clash for the first time in more than three years, this time at the Euro 2020.

How many UEFA European Championship trophies have Spain won?

Fernando Torres of Spain (center) lifts the Euro 2008 Trophy. (Getty)

Spain have competed in 10 European Championships (including the Euro 2020 edition), winning three championships. The European Nation Cup in 1964 was the second time the UEFA Championship was held. Spain hosted the final event. The hosts triumphed 2-1 over the reigning champions, the Soviet Union. Pereda and Marcelino netted for La Furia Roja, while Khusainov scored the only goal for the former Red Army.

Next, Euro 2008 was the 13th EUFA European Championship in Austria and Switzerland. Spain, who defeated Germany1-0 thanks to a goal by Fernando Torres, won the championship. Spain were only the second country to win all of its group scenes, followed by the European  Championship itself, which corresponds to French achievements in 1984. Spain were also the first team to win the championship unbeaten since Germany in 1996.

In the following tournament, Euro 2012, for the first time, Poland and Ukraine co-hosted the event. Spain were again crowned the champions, after defeating Italy 4-0 in the Final in Ukraine. David Silva, Jordi Alba, Fernando Torres, and Juan Mata scored the four goals in the Final. As a result, the country became the first to win two European championships in a row and three major straight competitions (Euro 2008, 2010 World Cup, and Euro 2012).