England will host Denmark at the Wembley Stadium in London on Wednesday, July 7, 2021, at 3:00 PM (ET) in the second of the two UEFA European Championship 2020 Semi-Finals. The Wembley Stadium in London will host the Semi-Finals and the Final since it has the highest capacity of all of the stadiums.

This will be their 22nd overall meeting. There are no surprises here as England are the heavy favorites in head-to-head clashes, having celebrated a victory on 12 occasions so far; Denmark have grabbed a triumph four times to this day, and the remaining five games have ended in a draw.

Their most recent game was played on October 14, 2020, when the Red and White shocked the Three Lions with a final result of 1-0 in a UEFA Nations League game. It promises to be an even more exciting clash as these two countries clash for the first time in less than a year, this time at the Euro 2020.

How many UEFA European Championship trophies have England won?

England fans with a sign saying Football is coming home 2021. (Getty)

After declining to participate in 1960, England's national soccer team sought to qualify for the tournament for the first time in 1964. They debuted in the Euros in 1968 and since then, The Three Lions have taken part in the competition 10 times (including the Euro 2020 edition). They were the host country in 1996, and so didn't have to qualify to participate.

England are yet to win a UEFA European Championship title in their history. Prior to the Euro 2020 Final, their greatest UEFA Euro achievements were a third-place result in Italy in 1968, when only four teams played in the finals; and two Semi-Finals: one on home soil in 1996, when they lost to Germany on penalties; and another at Euro 2020, against Denmark.

In two previous instances, the squad reached the Quarter-Finals, losing to Portugal after a penalty shootout in 2004, and to Italy in Ukraine again on penalities in 2012. In the round of 16, in 2016, England was eliminated by Iceland. They did not go past the Group Stage on the other four occasions, in 1980, 1988, 1992, and 2000.