Ever since they rose to stardom in world soccer, the Ballon d'Or conversation was pretty much about Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo. Between 2008 and 2017, the battle for the award seemed to be exclusively for them.

Even the likes of Andres Iniesta, Xavi, and Neymar have struggled to get this coveted prize while the Argentine star and CR7 dominated year after year. But that came to an end in 2018 when Luka Modric claimed the prize.

It only took a season for Messi to win the award back but competition has increased since then. There was no winner in 2020 due to the pandemic-shortened season, so the soccer community is eager for the 2021 awards. Or at least they were before the winner was apparently leaked.

Leaked 2021 Ballon d'Or results reveals Lewandowski is the winner

A leaked list with the Ballon d'Or results has gone viral on the Internet, erasing much of the expectation there was for the November 29 ceremony. The list has Robert Lewandowski as winner with 627 votes.

Messi, who has a world-record six Ballon d'Ors, is second and Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema completes the podium. Other names who appear on the list are Mohamed Salah (4th), Kylian Mbappe (6th), and Erling Haaland (8th).

Cristiano Ronaldo appears in ninth place, while Neymar is way below sitting 19th. The selection process is already over as all votes have been casted, what remains to be seen is whether this list proves to be the real one on November 29.

Leaked 2021 Ballon d'Or list

1. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
2. Lionel Messi (PSG)
3. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
4. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
5. Jorginho (Chelsea)
6. Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
7. N' Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
8. Erling Haaland (Dortmund)
9. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester.United)
10. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
11. Gianluiggi Donnarumma (PSG)
12. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
14. Harry Kane (Tottenham)
15. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
16. Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
17. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
18. Pedri (Barcelona)
19. Neymar (PSG)
20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)