The Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Group Stage ended on July 27, 2021, with the Quarter-Finals ties having taken place on Friday, July 30. Chile, China, and New Zealand were eliminated from the tournament as early as in the group phase. The three teams didn't manage to add a victory to their account in the final Matchday 3, and thus they missed out on a spot in the last eight.

Zambia also bid the Olympics farewell, after ending the Group Stage in the last place of the third-placed teams with just one point. It was Japan and Australia finished in the first two places in the table of the best third-placed teams.

They joined Great Britain, Canada, Netherlands, Brazil, Sweden, and the United States in the Knockout Stage. After the break, on July 30, all teams had embarked on their final journey towards the 2020 Summer Olympics gold.

Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Knockout Stage Schedule and Fixtures

Round Date
Quarter-Finals July 30
Semi-Finals August 2
Third place/Bronze medal match August 5
Final/Gold medal match August 6
Quarter-Finals – Results
Great Britain 3 - 4 Australia
Sweden 3 - 1 Japan
Netherlands 2 - 2 USA (2-4 on penalties)
Canada 0 - 0 Brazil (4-3 on penalties)
Austria 0 - 1 Sweden
USA 0 - 1 Canada
Bronze Medal Match
Australia 3-4 USA
Gold Medal Match
Sweden vs Canada

Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Knockout Stage Bracket

New Zealand, China, Zambia, and Chile were the four teams eliminated from the Group Stage. In the Knockout Stage, the eight surviving players advanced to the next level of competition. In the quarter-finals of the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup, reigning champion Germany were eliminated and did not qualify for this year's Summer Olympics.

The winner of the Australia vs Sweden matchup will then face the better side from the USA vs Canada game. Those two teams will fight for the gold medal, while the two teams that end up being defeated will fight for the bronze medal.

Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Knockout Stage Format

The Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Tournament began with a Group Stage that eliminated four of the 12 teams. Six teams remained and advanced to the Knockout Stage. Because of the men's tournament, the 12 teams were divided into three different groups: E, F, and G. Teams that finish first and second in their group following round-robin play automatically proceed to the Quarter-Finals.

The goal difference and the number of goals scored were the initial tiebreakers in order of importance. The second tiebreaker was used to break ties if the teams were still deadlocked. The top two teams from each group advanced to the Knockout Stage, which includes Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals, and Gold/Bronze Medal games.

Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Knockout Stage Teams

The top two teams from each of the three groups, as well as two of the best third-placed teams, advanced to the Tokyo 2020 Women's Soccer Knockout Stage. Check out the eight qualified teams:

Group E: Great Britain, Canada

Group F: Netherlands, Brazil

Group G: Sweden, USA

Third-placed teams: Japan, Australia