The UEFA Champions League will celebrate its 67th edition in 2021-22, which will mark its 30th anniversary since it was renamed from the European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1989. The 2021/2022 Champions League champions will automatically qualify for next year's group stage, as well as earning the opportunity to participate in the 2022 UEFA Super Cup and meet the UEFA Europa League champions.

For the first time since the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup was played in 1998/99, UEFA is organizing three main tournaments. In addition, there is also the newly established European Conference League, which is part of UEFA's Champions League and UEFA's Europa League. Chelsea, champions in 2020/21, are defending the trophy this season.

The 2021/22 Champions League Final will take place at Krestovsky Stadium in St. Petersburg, Russia on May 28, 2022. Allianz Arena in Munich, Germany was originally slated to host the event, however, it has since been changed. Because the 2020 UCL Final was postponed and relocated to Saint Petersburg, Russia, this is the case now, not in the past. By 2021, all UEFA club tournaments will be without the away goals rule.

How much money does the UEFA Champions League 2021-22 champion get?

Cesar Azpilicueta of Chelsea (left) prepares to lift the 2019-20 Champions League trophy. (Getty)

The total distribution by UEFA for the Group Stage is €2.022 billion, compared to €1.950b for the three-year period 2018-2021. In addition to the initial payments, 30 percent will be given to set amounts for services, and 30 percent will be allocated based on a ten-year performance coefficient rankings. The remaining 15 percent will be allocated to the market pool's variable parts.

A total of €15.64m will be awarded to each of the 32 clubs who qualified for the group stage, compared to €15.25m in previous years. Additionally, €2.8 million will be paid out for each win in the group, and €930,000 will be granted for a draw. The 2021-22 Champions League will pay out €9.6m for each team for the last 16, €10.6m per club for the Quarter-Finals, €12.5m for the Semi-Finals, €15.5m for appearing in the Final, and an additional €4.5m for winning the Final.

A total of €600.6m euros has been set aside to be given depending on each club's success in recent years, including bonuses for former UEFA titles (the Champions League, the Europa League, and the Cup Winners' Cup). €300.5m will be shared among all participating clubs based on their share in each television market. The remaining money will be allocated among the teams in a single federation. As a consequence of their performance in the previous league season, each team will get half of the value of each market.

Stage  Prize money
Preliminary Round €230,000
Qualifying Round 1 €280,000
Qualifying Round 2 €380,000
Qualifying Round 3 €480,000
Group Stage €15.64 million
Group match victory €2.8 million
Group match draw €930,000
Round of 16 €9.6 million
Quarter-Finals €10.6 million
Semi-Finals €12.6 million
Runners-up €15.5 million
Winners €20 million
Market Pool €300.3 million
Coefficient ranking €600.6 million