The China Open is an annual professional tennis event for men and women held in Beijing, China. The women's tournament is a WTA 1000 event on the WTA Tour, while the men's tournament is an ATP Tour 500 event. The tournament began in 2004 as a four-year back-to-back event. For the first time in 2008, it was merged with another event.

The China Open was the first event outside of the United States to employ the Hawk-Eye technology in match play, debuting in 2006. Novak Djokovic is the only player in history to win the China Open six times and has never dropped a match there.

With four championships under his belt, Djokovic owns the record for the most consecutive wins. The Bryan Brothers are the first doubles duo in history to win consecutive titles in doubles. With two championships apiece, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Serena Williams, Agnieszka Radwanska, and Caroline Wozniacki hold the women's tournament record.

China Open 2021: Why has the Beijing ATP 500 tournament been canceled?

Due to continued travel restrictions linked to the Covid-19 epidemic, the Women's Tennis Association and the Association of Tennis Professionals tours have both canceled tournaments in Asia planned for September 2021.

All events normally scheduled for China and Japan will not take place this year, according to the WTA and ATP. The WTA conducted events in Hiroshima and Osaka, Japan, as well as Guangzhou, Nanchang, Wuhan Zhengzhou, and Beijing, China, before the epidemic. 

Meanwhile, the ATP announced that the China Open Tennis Championships in Beijing and the Japan Open Tennis Championships in Tokyo, both ATP 500 tournaments slated for Week 40, have been canceled. The organizers of the Rolex Shanghai Masters, an ATP Masters 1000 tournament, earlier expected that the event will take place this season.