The long-awaited Copa America 2021 to be held in Brazil will kick off soon, after being postponed because of the Covid outbreak a year ago. This will be the 47th edition of the tournament that brings together the South American nations since 1916, being the oldest national team soccer competition in history.

Every time this contest takes place there are high expectations and huge excitement as this continent has the most evenly matched duels in the world. Powerful sides are going to face each other aiming to claim the highly desired title, which had eight different winners through history

The last edition in 2019, also held in Brazil, was conquered by the hosts, and this year everyone will be trying to take the trophy away from them. Soon before the competition begins, let's take a look into the Copa America 2021 complete schedule, format, teams, groups, and key dates. 

Copa America 2021 Format

The tournament will be played once again in Brazil as Argentina and Colombia were removed as co-hosts. The Copa América frequently hands an invitation to other nations to take part in the competition. Australia and Qatar, who were invited for this event before the pandemic changed the whole outlook, decided to step down, so only the South American teams will be participating.

The ten countries will be represented by their men's national soccer teams, which will be divided into two groups of five. The first four of Group A and B will move on to the quarter-finals. Only the two bottom-placed sides won't progress to that round.

Copa America 2021 Teams and Groups

Group A:

. Argentina
. Bolivia
. Uruguay
. Chile
. Paraguay

Group B:

. Brazil
. Colombia
. Venezuela 
. Ecuador
. Peru

Copa America 2021 Complete schedule

The Copa America will begin on June 13th, in Brasilia, when Brazil take on Venezuela, and it will end on July 10th, with the final at the Maracana Stadium in Río de Janeiro. The group stage will take place from June 13th to 28th, and the knockout stages will be played from July 2nd onwards.

Round 1

. Brazil vs Venezuela, June 13th.
. Colombia vs Ecuador, June 13th.
. Paraguay vs Bolivia, June 14th.
. Argentina vs Chile, June 14th.

Round 2

. Peru vs Brazil, June 17th.
. Colombia vs Venezuela, June 17th.
. Argentina vs Uruguay, June 18th.
. Chile vs Bolivia, June 18th.

Round 3

. Venezuela vs Ecuador, June 20th.
. Colombia vs Peru, June 20th.
. Argentina vs Paraguay, June 21st.
. Uruguay vs Chile, June 21st.

Round 4

. Colombia vs Brazil, June 23rd.
. Ecuador vs Peru, June 23rd.
. Bolivia vs Uruguay, June 24th.
. Chile vs Paraguay, June 24th.

Round 5

. Ecuador vs Brazil, June 27th.
. Venezuela vs Peru, June 27th.
. Argentina vs Bolivia, June 28th.
. Uruguay vs Paraguay, June 28th.


. 1B vs 4A, July 2nd.
. 2B vs 3A, July 2nd.
. 1A vs 4B, July 3rd.
. 2A vs 3B, July 3rd.

. G21 vs G22, July 5th.
. G23 vs G24, July 6th.

Third and fourth place 
. P26 vs P25, July 9th.

. G26 vs G25, July 10th.

Copa America 2021 Key Dates

. Brazil vs Venezuela, June 13th.
. Argentina vs Chile, June 14th.
. Argentina vs Uruguay, June 18th.
. Uruguay vs Chile, June 21st.
. Colombia vs Brazil, June 23rd.

. Quarter-finals: July 2nd and 3rd.

. Semi-finals: July 5th and 6th.

. Final: July 10th.