Finally, Guatemala is taking part of the Gold Cup 2021 after Curacao was struck down of the tournament due to a Covid-19 outbreak only 24 hours before the start of the Concacaf competition. So, coach Rafael Loredo had to put a 23-man squad on short notice. 

Los Chapines earned the right to play in the Gold Cup after being the “lucky losers” of the Prelims. They beat Guyana 4-0 in the first round, but failed on penalties against Guadeloupe in the second round. They’re part of Group A alongside Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago and El Salvador, whom they lost in the first match of the tournament. 

However, Guatemala has some good players to take the challenge to reach the knockout stage. The one-time champions want to have a deep run in the tournament after not being able to participate in the last two editions. Here, check out the men who are part of their squad. 

Gold Cup 2021: Guatemala 23-man squad 

Interim coach Rafael Loredo, who took charge of the team after Marvin Amarini Villatoro was fired, has called 23 players to be part of the squad for the tournament. However, the most relevant news is the comeback of Jorge Aparicio and Alejandro Galindo, who were suspended from the national team for indiscipline. 

Other names who will take part of the roster are Kevin Moscoso, who is healthy after testing positive for Covid-19, and the sub-20 Kenderson Navarro. Other players, like Yeltsin Álvarez, José Morales, Oscar Castellanos or Manuel López were called despite not being part of the Prelims. 

Goalkeepers (3): Kevin Moscoso (Comunicaciones), Nicholas Hagen (Sabail FC), Kenderson Navarro (Municipal). 

Defenders (10): José Carlos Pinto (Comunicaciones), Kervin García (Cobán Imperial), Stheven Robles (Comunicaciones), Manuel López (Municipal), Oscar Castellanos (Antigua GFC), Yeltsin Álvarez (Iztapa), Gerardo Gordillo (UTC), Moisés Hernández (Antigua GFC), Luis de León (Municipal), José Morales (Municipal).

Midfielders (6): Jorge Aparicio (Comunicaciones), Alejandro Galindo (Cobán Imperial), José Ruiz (Cobán Imperial), Marco Domínguez (Antigua GFC), Marvin Ceballos (Leones Negros), Jairo Arreola (Antigua GFC).

Forwards (4): Luis Martínez (Guastatoya), Darwin Lom (California United), Robin Betancourth (Cobán Imperial), Oscar Santis (Comunicaciones).