The USMNT won't be showing up at the Gold Cup 2021 with its world-renowned players. Gregg Berhalter opted to try with new options and face this tournament as an opportunity to see where everyone stands before the Final Round of the World Cup Qualification for Qatar 2022.

The US national team has won the Concacaf's greatest prize on six occasions, being the 2017 edition the last time it did so. Following a successful Concacaf Nations League campaign, Berhalter revealed a shocking roster for the 2021 Gold Cup, which will take place in their territory.

His announcement may have disappointed the soccer community but it will be a great chance for several new players to prove their worth and seize the opportunity of representing their country in the region's greatest tournament.

A different USMNT squad for the 2021 Gold Cup

The likes of Christian Pulisic, Weston McKennie, among others, won't take part in the upcoming Concacaf contest in what has been a controversial decision by Gregg Berhalter. However, this will be a huge chance for many new names to show their skills and fight for the coach's consideration ahead of the World Cup Qualifying.

Daryl Dike and Gianluca Busio might be the ones to watch in a squad that will feature 19 MLS players. Only nine of the 23 have previous Gold Cup experience and twelve players will be playing their first official competition for the USMNT.

Goalkeepers (3): Brad Guzan (Atlanta United), Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Matt Turner (New England Revolution)

Defenders (8): George Bello (Atlanta United), Reggie Cannon (Boavista), Shaq Moore (Tenerife), Donovan Pines (DC United), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), James Sands (New York City FC), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders (6): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids), Gianluca Busio (Sporting Kansas City), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

Forwards (6): Paul Arriola (DC United), Daryl Dike (Orlando City), Nicholas Gioacchini (Caen), Matthew Hoppe (Schalke), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew).