The Euro 2020 is set to be the 16th UEFA European Championship. It takes place every four years and is organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). The soccer competition was originally scheduled for June 12 to July 12, 2020. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament was delayed for a whole year and is now rescheduled to start on June 11 and end on July 11, 2021.

The Wembley Stadium in London is set to host the Semi-Finals and the Final since it has the highest capacity of all of the stadiums. The Stadio Olimpico in Rome has been selected as the opening venue. The tournament was originally meant to have 13 host venues, but two of them were later removed. Brussels, and Dublin. As a result, it will be held in 11 cities in 11 different countries.

Spain has moved its host city to Seville from Bilbao. Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal, who dominated the Euro 2016, are the defending champions. who dominated the Euro 2016, are the defending champions. The VAR will make its debut in this tournament at the European Championship in 2021.

UEFA European Championship top goalscorers

The UEFA European Championship leading goalscorers are largely well-known names not just across Europe, but in the entire world. Throughout the competition's history, some of the great attackers have demonstrated their abilities. The list of top scorers in the UEFA Euros offers a sense of the level of competition.

Michel Platini, a French great, is the European Championships' all-time top goalscorer. In his five appearances for the national squad, the forward scored nine goals. Interestingly, all nine goals occurred in a single edition of the competition, the 1984 championships, which France also won.

Portugal's star Ronaldo is the second-highest goalscorer. He is tied for the most goals scored with nine, though he has played in more games (21). The Juventus star will try to add to his total in the 2020 edition, which might also be his final. Ronaldo scored three goals in the last tournament in 2016, which his country eventually won.

Position Player's Name Country Goals Games
1. Michel Platini France 9 5
2. Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal 9 21
3. Alan Shearer England 7 9
4. Antoine Griezmann France 6 7
5. Ruud van Nistelrooy Netherlands 6 8
6. Patrick Kluivert Netherlands 6 9
7. Wayne Rooney England 6 10
8. Thierry Henry France 6 11
9. Zlatan Ibrahimovic Sweden 6 13
10. Nuno Gomes Portugal 6 14
11. Savo Milosevic FR Yugoslavia / Serbia 5 4
12. Marco van Basten Netherlands 5 9
13. Milan Baros Czech Republic 5 11
14. Jurgen Klinsmann West Germany / Germany 5 13
15. Fernando Torres Spain 5 13
16. Mario Gomez Germany 5 13
17. Zinedine Zidane France 5 14

The only two players who can make a change in this list are Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal, Antoine Griezmann of France. When CR7 scores in the Euro 2020, he will jump ahead of Platini and become the UEFA Euros' all-time top scorer. Meanwhile, Zlatan Ibrahimovic is also an active player, and in spite of getting a call-up to the Sweden national team, he will miss the tournament due to an injury.