Japan vs New Zealand for a spot in the semi-final. The home team has all the pressure on their backs for the quarterfinals, they are ready for this Men's Soccer Tournament game at the 2020 Olympics. The venue for this game is the Kashima Stadium on July 31, 2021 at 5:00 AM (ET). The OlyWhites (New Zealand's nickname) know how to win at that venue.

The Japanese did well in London 2012 and there is no doubt that at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo they can do just fine. Especially after winning against Mexico (2-1), South Africa (1-0) and France (4-0). That victory against french fueled up their hunger for gold.

New Zealand with a single victory in the tournament was enough to qualify for the quarterfinals. The only surprising loss for the OlyWhites was against Honduras (2-3). But New Zealand already reaped an important victory against South Korea, another Asian team with good numbers.

Japan vs New Zealand: Match Information

Date: Saturday, July 31, 2021.
Time: 5:00 AM (ET)
Location: Kashima Stadium, Kashima. 

 

Japan vs New Zealand: Times by State in the US

ET: 5:00 AM
CT: 4:00 AM
MT: 3:00 AM
PT: 2:00 AM

 

Japan vs New Zealand: Storylines

Japan has no medals at the Olympics. But they have a gold medal at the Asian Games 2010. Another important title for the Japanese as a soccer team was in 2016 when they were crowned as AFC U-23 Champions. Japan's star is Kubo (Real Madrid’s player), he has scored in all the Men’s Soccer Tournament games at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

New Zealand by accident in the quarterfinals. They barely have 3 goals scored in the tournament, and 3 goals allowed. Quite poor numbers, but mistakes from Romania and Honduras helped New Zealand qualify for the next round.

Everything is in favor of Japan for this game. Japan is the second team with the most goals in the tournament, 7 goals in favor and only one against. Brazil has the same amount in favor but with three against. In addition, Japan is the only 2020 Olympics soccer team that won all the games in their group.

How To Watch Or Stream Live Free Japan vs New Zealand in the U.S.

Tune in to your TV or download an app on your smartphone to watch this game from the Men’s Soccer Tournament at the 2020 Olympic Games that will be broadcast through NBCOlympics.com, NBC Sports App, USA Network in the United States.

 

 

Japan vs New Zealand: Predictions And Odds

The home team is a favorite for a lot of things, but beyond favoritism for playing at home, Japan has shown that being a favorite is about winning games and scoring goals. Japan is offered at -360 odds, you should stay away from that line. If New Zealand wins with +1000 odds, that result would be a surprise (upset). The draw is available at Draftkings with +500 odds.

  Draftkings
Japan -360
Tie +500
New Zealand +1000