The Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Group Stage ended on July 28, 2021, with possible gold medal favorite teams like Germany, France, and Argentina eliminated from the tournament. The three teams didn't manage to add a victory to their account in the final Matchday 3, and thus they missed out on a spot in the last eight.

In addition to France and South Africa, six other countries bid the Olympics farewell, including Germany, Australia, Argentina, and Saudi Arabia. Both South Africa and Saudi Arabia failed to earn at least one point, while Honduras and Australia both grabbed three points, but it was not enough to qualify for the Quarter-Finals.

With a total of nine points, Japan finished first in Group A, as well as South Korea with six points in Group B, Spain with five points, and Brazil with seven points in Group D. The top four teams in the men's soccer competition have qualified for the next round. Mexico, New Zealand, Egypt, and Ivory Coast are the four other teams that have joined them from second place. After the break, on July 31, the teams will all embark on their final journey towards the 2020 Summer Olympics gold.

Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Knockout Stage Schedule and Fixtures

Round Date
Quarter-Finals July 31
Semi-Finals August 3
Third place/Bronze medal match August 6
Final/Gold medal match August 7
Quarter-Finals – Results
Spain 5-2 Ivory Coast
Japan 0-0 New Zealand (4-2 after penalties)
Brazil 1-0 Egypt
South Korea 3-0 Mexico
Japan 0-1 Spain
Mexico 0-0 Brazil (1-4 after penalties)
Bronze Medal Match
Japan vs Mexico
Gold Medal Match
Spain vs Brazil

Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Knockout Stage Bracket

As the Knockout Stage kicks off, defending champions Brazil will attempt to reach two gold medals. They got past the first hurdle named Egypt, and now they face Mexico in the Semi-Finals. Another medal contender is the winner of the Spain vs Japan semis matchup.

On the way to the gold medal, though, they will have to face the host team, Japan. It was a flawless group stage for Japan, but 2012 gold medalists Mexico are poised for another remarkable run. The Ivory Coast and Egypt had high hopes of becoming Africa's first gold medal winners since Cameroon in 2000 but they failed to progress to the Semi-Final stage.

Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Knockout Stage Format

The Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Tournament began with a Group Stage that eliminated half of the 16 teams. Eight teams remained and advanced to the Knockout Stage. A, B, C, and D were the four groups into which the 16 teams were divided for the Group Stage. Teams that finish first and second in their group following round-robin play automatically proceed to the Quarter-Finals.

The goal difference and the number of goals scored were the initial tiebreakers in order of importance. The second tiebreaker was used to break ties if the teams were still deadlocked. The top two teams from each group advanced to the Knockout Stage, which includes Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals, and Gold/Bronze Medal games.

Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Knockout Stage Teams

The top two teams from each of the four groups advanced to the Tokyo 2020 Men's Soccer Knockout Stage. Check out the eight qualified teams:

Group A: Japan, Mexico

Group B: South Korea, New Zealand

Group C: Spain, Egypt

Group D: Brazil, Ivory Coast