The US Open 2021 came to an end with an incredible final. Daniil Medvedev did what it seemed impossible and beat Novak Djokovic in three sets 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 to win his first Grand Slam. One day before, Emma Raducanu won the women's singles tournament. 

On the women’s side, the US Open has a new champion this year. Teenager Emma Raducanu, 18, won the title for the first time making history as being the only player that lift the trophy after coming from the qualy. Also, Raducanu is the youngest Grand Slam champion since Maria Sharapova in Wimbledon 2004 (17). She beat Leylah Fernandez 6-4, 6-3 in the first teenage US Open final since 1999. 

Meanwhile, on the men’s side Daniil Medvedev is the first man who could beat Novak Djokovic this year in a Grand Slam. The Serbian was aiming to become the first man to win the calendar Grand Slam since 1969 if and break the record of majors (men), however, the Russian played an incredible match and took home the trophy. Here, check out all the previous champions of the US Open in the Open Era.

US Open men's singles champions: List by year (Open Era)

While the US Open, formerly known as the US National Championships, has been played since 1887, the tournament became “open”, meaning that all professional players could participate, in 1968. It was the second Grand Slam to do so, after Wimbledon

Since then, three men have the record of most US Open Championships: Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer, all with five. However, Federer is the only one of them that won them all in consecutive years (2004-08). Here, check out all the champions:

Year Champion
1968 Arthur Ashe 
1969 Rod Laver
1970 Ken Rosewall
1971 Stan Smith 
1972 Illie Nastase
1973 John Newcombe
1974 Jimmy Connors
1975 Manuel Orantes
1976 Jimmy Connors
1977 Guillermo Vilas
1978 Jimmy Connors
1979 John McEnroe
1980 John McEnroe
1981 John McEnroe
1982 Jimmy Connors
1983 Jimmy Connors 
1984 John McEnroe
1985 Iban Lendl
1986 Ivan Lendl
1987 Ivan Lendl
1988 Mats Wilander
1989 Boris Becker
1990 Pete Sampras
1991 Stefan Edberg
1993 Pete Sampras
1994 Andre Agassi
1995 Pete Sampras
1996 Pete Sampras
1997 Patrick Rafter
1998 Patrick Rafter
1999 Andre Agassi
2000 Marat Safin
2001 Lleyton Hewitt
2002 Pete Sampras
2003 Andy Roddick
2004 Roger Federer
2005 Roger Federer
2006 Roger Federer
2007 Roger Federer
2008 Roger Federer
2009 Juan Martin Del Potro
2010 Rafael Nadal
2011 Novak Djokovic
2012 Andy Murray
2013 Rafael Nadal
2014 Marin Cilic
2015 Novak Djokovic
2016 Stan Wawrinka
2017 Rafael Nadal
2018 Novak Djokovic
2019 Rafael Nadal
2020 Dominic Thiem
2021 Daniil Medvedev

US Open women's single champions: List by year (Open Era)

On the women’s side, Chris Evert (1975-1978) has the record for most consecutive titles with four. She also shares the record with most overall titles at six (1975–1978, 1980, 1982) with Serena Williams (1999, 2002, 2008, 2012–2014). Here, check out all the champions: 

Year Champion
1968 Virginia Wade 
1969 Margaret Court
1970 Margaret Court
1971 Billie Jean King
1972 Billie Jean King
1973 Margaret Court
1974 Billie Jean King
1975 Chris Evert
1976 Chris Evert
1977 Chris Evert
1978 Chris Evert
1979 Tracy Austin
1980 Chris Evert
1981 Tracy Austin
1982 Chris Evert
1983 Martina Navratilova
1985 Hana Mandlikova
1986 Martina Navratilova
1987 Martina Navratilova
1988 Steffi Graf
1989 Steffi Graf
1990 Gabriela Sabatini
1991 Monica Seles
1992 Monica Seles
1993 Steffi Graf
1994 Arantxa Sanchez Vicario
1995 Steffi Graf
1996 Steffi Graf
1997 Martini Hingis
1998 Lindsay Davenport
1999 Serena Williams
2000 Venus Williams
2001 Venus Williams
2002 Serena Williams
2003 Justine Henin
2004 Svetlana Kuznetsova
2005 Kim Clijsters
2006 Maria Sharapova
2007 Justine Henin
2008 Serena Williams
2009 Kim Clijsters
2010 Kim Clijsters
2011 Samantha Stosur
2012 Serena Williams
2013 Serena Williams
2014 Serena Williams
2015 Flavia Pennetta
2016 Angelique Kerber
2017 Sloane Stephens
2018 Naomi Osaka
2019 Bianca Andreescu
2020 Naomi Osaka
2021 Emma Raducanu

Other top stories: