Tokyo 2020 is underway as the USWNT has already begun its journey. Head Coach Vlatko Andonovski named a powerful squad to chase the team's fifth gold medal in the Summer Olympics and the first one in nine years. The reigning World Champions will be looking to lead their country to glory in sports' ultimate event.

Things may have not started well for them, as Sweden shocked the USA by putting three goals past them, but the USWNT still has two games ahead to turn things around. With captain Becky Sauerbrunn, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd, and Megan Rapinoe, among many others, they have plenty of reasons for optimism.

The USA team, however, finds itself in a challenging group alongside tough opponents. Sweden is already part of the past now, but New Zealand and Australia are waiting for Andonovski's side, who will have to prove its strength in the upcoming games.

The USWNT squad for Tokyo 2020

Unsurprisingly, Vlatko Andonovski selected a good number of players who were part of the 2019 World Cup success. Besides, twelve of them have also Olympics experience under their belts.

The likes of Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd, and Megan Rapinoe headline the list of players that will represent the USWNT at Tokyo 2020. For this edition, the International Olympic Committee allowed the four alternates to be included in the matchday squad. Check out the US Women's National Team full roster for the Olympic Games

Goalkeepers (3): Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Jane Campbell (Houston Dash)

Defenders (7): Abby Dahlkemper (Manchester City), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns FC), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit), Casey Krueger (Chicago Red Stars)

Midfielders (6): Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage), Catarina Macario (Lyon)

Forwards (6): Tobin Heath (Unattached), Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Unattached), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)