The FIFA Club World Cup was originally implemented in 2000 as a way to involve all the confederations and their respective regional tournament winners in one competition. Up until 2000, the best team in the World was determined by a one game playoff between the CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores and UEFA Champions League winners held in Japan.

In 2000 the first experimental tournament was held in Brazil, to mixed reviews, but in 2005 FIFA made the tournament the official Club World Cup competition and eliminated the Intercontinental Championship, but still respected its history.

Since 2005 the tournament has been hosted in Japan, the United Arab Emirates, Morocco, and Qatar. In nearly every confederation, especially South America, the tournament is extremely important, while in Europe depending on the team competing in the competition it is sometimes viewed as an afterthought. Nonetheless since 2013 every champion has been from Europe and outside of the European champions only Brazilian teams have won the competition. Here are all the Club World Cup winners!

Real Madrid - 4 FIFA Club World Cups 

Real Madrid (Getty)

Real Madrid won the Club World Cup on four occasions, in 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2018. They made short work of San Lorenzo of Argentina in 2014, and then won the competition three years in a row defeating Kashima Antlers of Japan (2016), Grêmio of Brazil (2017), and Al- Ain of UAE in 2018.

Barcelona - 3 FIFA Club World Cups

Barcelona (Getty)

Barcelona won the title on three occasions in 2009, 2011, and 2015. Their first championship came in an overtime victory over Estudiantes of Argentina, and then in 2011 and 2015 the Catalan side pounded Santos of Brazil 4-0, and outmatched River Plate of Argentina 3-0 in 2015.

Bayern Munich - 2 FIFA Club World Cups

The German giants beat Raja Casablanca of Morocco 3-0 to clinch their first FIFA Club World Cup trophy in 2013. Seven editions later, in 2021, Bayern won the title again by defeating Tigres UANL 1-0 at the Education City Stadium, in Qatar. Benjamin Pavard scored the winner for the Bundesliga side, which dominated the game and took a deserved victory. 

Corinthians -2 FIFA Club World Cups

Corinthians (Getty)

Corinthians won the competition twice, while the 2000 tournament saw Real Madrid play reserves for example, the cup still counts. In 2012 however a very well put together Corinthians team beat Chelsea in the final 1-0.

Teams to have won the Club World Cup once

Liverpool (Getty)

Liverpool defeated Flamengo 1-0 in Qatar and closed out a perfect 2018/2019 season. Sao Paulo won the title in 2005 defeating Liverpool 1-0, while Inter of Porto Alegre upset Barcelona in 2006 1-0 as well.

A.C. Milan defeated Boca Juniors 4-2 in 2007 in a heated final that saw a lot of goals and red cards. Manchester United defeated a spirited Liga de Quito side 1-0 in 2008. Inter Milan would win their only title by beating surprise team TP Mazembe of Congo 3-0 in 2010.