Only a year ago the outlook seemed pretty dark for La Tri until Gustavo Alfaro quickly changed the team's fortunes. Under much more exciting times for Ecuador, the highly praised coach unveiled the list of players to take part in Copa America 2021.

The 58-year-old boss has guided his side to an impressive start to the South American World Cup Qualifiers while youth, promising talents began to emerge. Even though they still have work to do, Copa America seems to arrive in good timing for Ecuador.

With the tournament's kickoff around the corner, Alfaro's boys are ready to begin their journey in Group B, where they'll face Brazil, Colombia, Peru, and Venezuela. Check out the 28-man squad that will represent the country in the continental cup.

Ecuador's Copa America 2021 roster

A string of good results in the first rounds of the road to Qatar 2022 took many by surprise and quickly earned Alfaro recognition. Even though La Tri couldn't return strongly in the recent window, they have reasons for optimism ahead of the upcoming Copa America.

Ecuador's manager, Gustavo Alfaro (Getty).

The mix of youngsters and more experienced players seem to be the key to Alfaro's initial success with Ecuador, even though they still have a long way to go. With their sights set on making a good performance, this will be Ecuador's squad for Copa America 2021:

Goalkeepers (3):  Alexander Domínguez (Vélez), Pedro Ortiz (Emelec), Hernán Galíndez (Universidad Católica).

Defenders (9):  Xavier Arreaga (Seattle Sounders), Robert Arboleda (Sao Paulo), Félix Torres (Santos Laguna), Pervis Estupiñán (Villarreal), Angel Preciado (Genk), Mario Pineda (Barcelona SC), Diego Palacio (Los Angeles FC), Luis León (Barcelona SC), Piero Hincapié (Talleres).

Midfielders (10):  Alan Franco (Atlético Mineiro), Jehgson Méndez (Orlando City), Christian Noboa (Sochi), José Carabalí (Universidad Católica), Moisés Caicedo (Brighton), Ángel Mena (León), Gonzalo Plata (Sporting de Lisboa), Dixon Arroyo (Emelec), Damián Diáz (Barcelona SC), Ayrton Preciado (Santos Laguna).

Forwards (6):  Fidel Martínez (Tijuana), Jordy Caicedo (CSKA Sofia), Leonardo Campana (Famalicao), Enner Valencia (Fenerbahce), Michael Estrada (Toluca), José Hurtado (Independiente del Valle).