The UEFA Super Cup was first played in 1972, but it was until 1973 that UEFA officially recognized the first Super Cup game. That game was between Milan and Ajax, the Dutch won 6-1 over the Italians. Until almost the end of the 20th century, this cup was played in the two-legged format, but in 1997 the decision was made that the cup be won in a single day.

The European country with the most Super Cups is Spainwith a total of 15 wins and 13 losses. The fifteen cups are distributed among five Spanish teams. The Zaragoza is the only team that failed to win the cup and they lost against Ajax in 1995. The last time a Spanish team won the Super Cup was Atletico Madrid in 2018.

Despite the fact that the UEFA Super Cup is a one time event, fans around the world are aware to watch the game from anywhere. It's an exciting event that has given some rivals a chance to play against each other before the start of the next season.

UEFA Super Cup 2021 Champions: Winners list by year

This list is updated with the most reliable information from sources such as UEFA, FIFA and others. Some data is not present since during the years of 1974, 1981 and 1985 the Super Cup was not disputed.

UEFA Super Cup List
Winner Team Year(s)
Barcelona 1992, 1997, 2009, 2011, 2015    
Milan 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003, 2007
Real Madrid 2002, 2014, 2016, 2017
Liverpool 1977, 2001, 2005, 2019
Atletico Madrid 2010, 2012, 2018
Bayern Munich 2013, 2020
Ajax 1973, 1995
Anderlecht 1976, 1978
Valencia 1980, 2004
Juventus 1984, 1996
Chelsea 1998, 2021
Sevilla 2006
Porto 1987
Manchester United 1991
Dynamo Kyiv 1975
Nottingham Forest 1979
Aston Villa 1982
Aberdeen 1983
Steaua București 1986
Mechelen 1988
Parma 1993
Lazio 1999
Galatasaray 2000
Zenit Saint Petersburg 2008

Lionel Messi is on the exclusive list of UEFA Super Cup scorers with three goals. In addition, he holds the record of being the only player named man of the match twice in 2009 and 2015 with FC Barcelona.