The oldest national team tournament will gather the ten South American national teams in its 47th edition and Colombia are ready for it. Coach Reinaldo Rueda has announced the squad for Copa America 2021, which will kick off soon.

Los Cafeteros head to this competition with high aspirations under Rueda's guidance. Former boss Carlos Queiroz was in charge of the team the last continental cup played in 2019, but he was dismissed last year after a weak start to the Conmebol World Cup Qualifiers.

The homegrown manager seems to have made some necessary adjustments in his first months and has brought hope back with this Copa America and Qatar 2022 on the horizon. Colombia will start their journey in Group A with Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, and Uruguay.

Colombia's Copa America 2021 squad

Rueda's second spell at the helm of Colombia has just begun, as he has only had two official games with the team so far. Los Cafeteros responded well to his arrival, though, as they claimed one win over Peru and snatched a dramatic draw against Argentina.

Copa America 2021 will be the first big challenge upfront and, twenty years from their only title to date, La Tricolor seeks a deep run after falling in the quarterfinals in 2019. It won't be an easy task at all, but Rueda is confident that his side can prove its strength.

The Colombian national team heads to Copa America 2021 full of hope (Getty).

The submitted list of players highlights the presence of three new members as Juan Ferney Otero, Portland TimbersYimmi Chará, and John Lucumí. However, two big absences also call the attention as both James Rodríguez and Radamel Falcao were snubbed from the squad.

Goalkeepers (3): David Ospina (Napoli), Camilo Vargas (Atlas), Aldair Quintana (Atlético Nacional).

Defenders (8): Carlos Cuesta Figueroa (Genk), Daniel Muñoz Mejía (Genk), Dávinson Sánchez (Tottenham) John Lucumí (Genk), Yerry Mina (Everton), Oscar Murillo (Pachuca), Stefan Medina (Monterrey), William Tesillo (Club León).

Midfielders (12): Baldomero Perlaza (Atlético Nacional), Edwin Cardona (Boca Juniors), Gustavo Cuéllar (Al Hilal); Jáminton Campaz (Deportes Tolima), Juan Ferney Otero (Santos Laguna), Juan Guillermo Cuadrado, (Juventus), Matheus Uribe (Porto), Sebastián Pérez (Boavista), Wílmar Barrios (Zenit), Yairo Moreno (Pachuca), Yimmy Chará (Portland Timbers), Luis Diaz Marulanda (Porto).

Forwards (5): Alfredo Morelos (Rangers); Duván Zapata (Atalanta), Luis Fernando Muriel (Atalanta), Miguel Borja (Junior), Rafael Santos Borré (River Plate).