Liga MX is the top professional soccer league in Mexico and over its 78-year history, the league has had many incarnations. Today, each season is divided into two tournaments, an Apertura and Clausura, and like MLS, Liga MX has a playoff system where they crown the champion of each tournament.

Liga MX is by far the strongest North American league in CONCACAF, while MLS has been on the rise, Liga MX have been at the forefront, as Mexican teams clearly dominate over every other league in CONCACAF with regards to budgets and CONCACAF Champions League titles.

Liga MX is also one of the most-watched leagues in the United States, as Mexican soccer games can be seen on Spanish Television as well as various sports networks on cable. So, without further ado here are all the Liga MX champions!

5. Pumas UNAM

Facundo Waller(left) of Pumas UNAM celebrates after scoring against Mazatlan. (Getty)

Based in Mexico City and founded in 1954, Pumas represent the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). They play their home games at the Estadio Olímpico Universitario. On a domestic basis, they have won 11 trophies so far: seven Mexican championships, one MX Cup, two Campeón de Campeones, and they also have won the Segunda División.

In addition, they can boast of lifting the CONCACAF Champions Leagues three times and the Inter-American Cup once. Pumas' rivalry with Club America is long-standing, and their derbies are often known as the Clásico Capitalino. They have also established a grand number of international players for the Mexico national team.

4. Tigres UANL

Nicolas Lopez (right) of Tigres UANL celebrates after scoring a goal against Atletico San Luis. (Getty)

Tigres come from the metropolitan area of Monterrey, San Nicolás de los Garza. They have been playing in the top Mexican league for 60 years now, since 1960. In the 1975/76 season, they became the first Nuevo Leon club to win the national championship. They went on to win another six Liga Mx titles, and three Copa MX trophies.

Tigres ended second to Bayern Munich in the 2020 edition of the FIFA Club World Cup, representing up to this stage the highest results of any CONCACAF side in international competitions. They are the official club that represents the University of the state of Nuevo León. The stadium is situated within the complex of San Nicolás de los Garza. The standard colors of the team's jersey are blue and gold. Tigres, along with rival C.F. Monterrey, are one of the two professional soccer clubs in Nuevo León.

3. Cruz Azul

Juan Escobar of Cruz Azul (left) celebrates after scoring the second goal with his teammates against Cruz Azul. (Getty)

This Mexican side moved to Mexico City in 1971, from Jasso, Hidalgo. The Stadium Azteca was their home until 1996 when they relocated to the Azul stadium. It is the largest sports arena in the country. At the end of the 2017-18 MX league season, they came back at the Azteca after 22 years. 

Cruz Azul have been six-time Mexican champions, which makes them the second most successful team in history in North America's CONCACAF Champions League. They have also been the first CONCACAF side to reach the finals of a Copa Libertadores. In addition, Azul are known as the first CONCACAF club who has managed a Continental Treble, having won the Mexican championship, the Copa México national tournament, and the CONCACAF Champions League.

2. Chivas Guadalajara

Jesús Angulo (left) of Chivas celebrates with his teammates against Necaxa. (Getty)

Guadalajara, who are also known as Chivas, are another Mexican professional football club. Based in Guadalajara, Jalisco, they are one of the ten founder members of the Mexican First Division and are one of only two teams alongside Club America who have never been relegated to a lower division.

Guadalajara are Mexico's only soccer team that have never taken any player outside of Mexico. They have always stressed the growth of home-grown players. The three colors (red, white, blue) of the team stand for "Fraternity, Union, and Sports." Their French founders adopted the colors which tied them back to their homeland. In addition, Guadalajara is the best Mexican club in the Copa Libertadores, with two semi-finals and one lost final.

1. Club America

Cluh America players pose during the CONCACAF Champions League 2020. (Getty)

Club America or just America are a professional Mexican soccer club from Mexico City. The Eagles feature in the highest tier of Mexican football, Liga MX. Foundation of the club in 1916, the broadcasting corporation Grupo Televisa has been owned since 1959. The team is playing at home at Estadio Azteca, which is Latin America's largest venue and is one of the world's biggest stadiums.

They have won a record of 13 league championships, as well as six Mexican Cup titles, and six Campeón de Campeones cups. America have won ten FIFA award-winning club trophies in international competitions, as well as seven CONCACAF Champions Cup/Champions League titles, two Copa Interamericana cups, and one CONCACAF Giants Cup.