The 2021 Gold Cup knockout stages will bring us an exciting quarterfinal matchup between Mexico and Honduras this Saturday, July 24, at 10 PM (ET). The reigning champions aim to extend their unbeaten run in the Concacaf tournament, while La H hope to bounce back after a painful loss.

El Tri overcame a tricky start to their campaign after a goalless affair with Trinidad and Tobago in the 2021 Gold Cup opener. Gerardo Martino's boys, however, have plenty of work to do as El Salvador made things hard for them on Matchday 3.

Honduras, on the other hand, arrive at the quarterfinals under much more complicated circumstances. Asides from losing at Qatar in the final matchday of Group D to finish second, they've suffered significant casualties for the upcoming match.

Mexico confirmed starting XI

Mexico have made their way to the quarterfinals as leaders of Group A, but their hard-fought victory over El Salvador proved they are far from being at their best. El Tri won't have room for mistakes from now on and must respond without a key player such as Hirving 'Chucky' Lozano.

Mexico Coach Gerardo Martino. (Getty)

Martino has decided to call up Rodolfo Pizarro to replace the Napoli forward, but he wouldn't include him in the starting eleven for now. Therefore, this is how Mexico would line up: Alfredo Talavera; Luis Rodriguez, Nestor Araujo, Héctor Moreno, Jesús Gallardo; Jonathan Dos Santos, Héctor Herrera, Edson Alvarez; Jesús Corona, Rogelio Funes Mori, Orbelín Pineda. 

Honduras confirmed lineup

The outlook is much darker for Honduras. When everything seemed to be going in the right direction for them, La H star Alberth Elis was ruled out for the remainder of the 2021 Gold Cup. It's certainly bad timing for such a casualty as they have to face the titleholders in a win-or-go-home match.

To make things worse, head coach Fabian Coito has tested positive for Covid-19. Honduras, however, will try to overcome these hardships and this is how they would line up: Luis López; Johnny Leverón, Kevin Álvarez, Maynor Figueroa, Diego Rodríguez; Kevin López, Deybi Flores, Bryan Acosta, Marcelo Santos; Alexander López; Jerry Bengston.