Brazil arrived at Copa America 2021 as the strongest candidate for the title, not only due to their powerful squad and incredible form but also because they would defend their crown at home once again. Two years ago, they lifted the continental trophy in the Maracana Stadium.

They ended up hosting the tournament for the second straight time and still looking as the mightiest team in South America. La Verde-amarela have been dominant over the past years, but this Copa America was the exception.

However, throughout the history of this tournament things were not always great for them. Brazil have had some difficult years in which they struggled to win the cup, while they were successful other times. 

The Copa America titles won by Brazil

La Canarinha tasted continental glory for the first time in 1919, the third edition of the tournament. From then on, they got their hands in the trophy many more times, but they went through tough, trophyless streaks as well.

Brazil have won the Copa America on nine occasions, being the 2019 edition their most recent success. As we've said before, La Verde-amarela have enjoyed some glorious times over the past two decades.

Brazil's Copa America titles year by year

Brazil celebrating the Copa America 2019 title. (Getty)

Brazil have not always been dominant in the continental cup. After winning the title for the second time in 1922, they went 27 years without repeating such a result. However, their worst trophyless streak came later, spending 40 years winless between 1949 and 1989.

Once they ended that long run, Brazil recovered their continental strength and went on to win more titles. These are all the Campeonato Sudamericano/Copa America trophies they've won over the years.

Year Winner Hosts
1919 Brazil Brazil
1922 Brazil Brazil
1949 Brazil Brazil
1989 Brazil Brazil
1997 Brazil Bolivia
1999 Brazil Paraguay
2004 Brazil Peru
2007 Brazil Venezuela
2019 Brazil Brazil